WGLE is off-air, we apologize for this inconvenience. We are working to get this issue resolved. Thank you for your patience.

Jazz Spectrum

Saturdays 8 p.m. - 12 a.m.

Hosted by Fritz Byers, Jazz Spectrum is designed as an anthology, a loose and flowing tour through the history of the music, showcasing the wondrous diversity of jazz and the virtuosity of the musicians who play it.

Playlist: December 3, 2022

Set 1

Donald Byrd, Free Form, “Free Form”
Patricia Barber, Split, “Easy to Love”
Thumbscrew, Theirs, “House Party Starting”
Thumbscrew, Ours, “Saturn Way”

Set 2

Sam Yahel, In the Blink of an Eye, “Like Someone in Love”
Tomasz Stanko, Leosia, “A Farewell to Maria”
Thad Jones featuring Ruth Brown, The Big Bound Sound of Thad Jones, “Be Anything (But Be Mine)”
Horace Silver, Further Explorations, “Pyramid”

Set 3

Ravi Coltrane, Blending Times, “Epistrophy”
Ingrid Jensen, Higher Grounds, “Seventh Avenue”
Ornette Coleman and Joachim Kuhn, Colors, “House of Stained Glass”
Bobby Timmons, Workin’ Out, “Tenaj”

Set 4

Johnny Griffin, Johnny Griffin’s Studio Jazz Party, “Low Gravy”
Henry Threadgill, Where’s Your Cup, “Feels Like It”
Dinah Washington, Dinah Washington Vol. 5 (1956-58), “Backwater Blues”
Leo Parker, Rollin’ with Leo, “Stuffy”

Set 5

Rosemary Clooney, The CBS Radio Recordings, “Almost Like Being in Love”
Flip Phillips, Verve/Clef Charlie Ventura and Flip Phillips Studio Sessions, “Almost Like Being in Love”
Nat King Cole, Complete Capitol Recordings, “Almost Like Being in Love”
Lester Young, In Washington D.C., Vol. 4, “Almost Like Being in Love”

Set 6

Chris Connor, Chris Connor, “Almost Like Being in Love”
Charlie Parker, Complete Charlie Parker on Verve, “Almost Like Being in Love”
Nicole Henry, The Very Thought of You, “Almost Like Being in Love”
J.J. Johnson, Complete Columbia Small Group Sessions, “Almost Like Being in Love”

Set 7

Roy Eldridge, Montreux ’77, “Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea”
Roxy Coss, The Future is Female, “Nasty Women Grab Back”
Dave Liebman, Setting the Standards, “Without You”
Jay Clayton & Don Lanphere, The Jazz Alley Tapes, “Love for Sale”

Set 8

Sonny Criss, I’ll Catch the Sun, “Blue Sunset”
Jazzmeia Horn, A Social Call, “The Peacocks (A Timeless Place)”
Mark Turner, Lathe of Heaven, “Brother Sister”

Set 9

Bobby Hutcherson, Mosaic Select, “Roses Poses”
Sonny Stitt & Paul Gonsalves, Salt and Pepper, “Never . . . Sh!” 
Stefon Harris, African Tarantella, “Dancing Enigma”
Ben Webster & Tete Montoliu, Gentle Ben, “Ben’s Blues”

Meet Your Host Fritz Byers

Man in blue smiling Hailing from The Sunflower State of Kansas, Fritz Byers is a Duke University and Harvard Law School alum. 

After he started practicing law in the Toledo area, Fritz took his love for Jazz and proposed a new radio show on WGTE's FM 91. That's when Jazz Spectrum was born and it began airing on April 1, 1989. He has been sharing Jazz every Saturday night since on FM 91.