The Mark Twain Prize

Mark Twain Prize

Dave Chappelle: The Mark Twain Prize will air Tuesday, January 7 at 9 p.m.

Created in 1998 by The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, Mark Krantz, Peter Kaminsky and Bob Kaminsky and John Schreiber, the Mark Twain prize recognizes the art of humorists who have had an impact on American society in ways similar to the distinguished 19th century novelist and essayist best known as Mark Twain.